Remnant 2: Which Difficulty Should You Pick? Understanding the Importance of Difficulty Selection

Remnant 2 Game Tutorial: Navigating Difficulty Levels

In Remnant 2, the ability to choose your difficulty level provides an added layer of complexity. While the Adventure Mode allows for flexibility in difficulty selection, the choice is far more critical in the Campaign Mode. With the release of Remnant 2, both newcomers and fans of the original game, Remnant: From the Ashes, have questions about the game’s quality and level of difficulty. As a key talking point, let’s delve into the four difficulty options in Remnant 2, their differences, and how to choose based on your experience.

Overview of Difficulty Options

To simplify, Remnant 2 has four difficulty levels, three of which are selectable by default, and the hardest (Apocalypse) is unlocked after one gameplay on any difficulty. Each option provides bonus experience per kill, though the general loot remains the same. However, the enemies and bosses become more challenging.

These difficulty options are similar to those in Remnant: From the Ashes, but the names have changed: ‘Hard’ is now ‘Veteran’ and ‘Normal’ is ‘Survivor’. However, despite these similarities, the sequel seems to be more challenging overall.

Difficulty Name Mob Bonus HP Mob Bonus Damage Boss Bonus HP Boss Bonus Damage Bonus Experience
Survivor 100 Percent 100 Percent 100 Percent 100 Percent 100 Percent
Veteran 150 Percent 165 Percent 165 Percent 165 Percent 115 Percent
Nightmare 250 Percent 350 Percent 312.5 Percent 262.5 Percent 130 Percent
Apocalypse 175 Percent 450 Percent 412.5 Percent 405 Percent 150 Percent

Deciding on a Difficulty Level

The choice of difficulty depends on the player’s preferences and previous gaming experience. Below is a general guide:

  • Survivor: Ideal for Soulslike newcomers and those unfamiliar with Remnant: From the Ashes.
  • Veteran: Perfect for Remnant: From the Ashes players and Soulslike veterans.
  • Nightmare: Suited for Remnant: From the Ashes ‘experts’, second-time players of Remnant II, and Soulslike players who enjoy challenging bosses.
  • Apocalypse: Made for gaming veterans who thrive on intense challenges or have completed Remnant II on Nightmare difficulty.

Now, let’s discuss these options in more detail.

Which Difficulty Should You Pick Remnant 2


Survivor is designed for beginners, especially those unfamiliar with Soulslike games or the original Remnant. While approachable and rewarding, it still offers a level of difficulty that can challenge players.

You may also read: Remnant 2: Where to Find Soul Sparks


Veteran is seen as the standard difficulty for Soulslike fans and players of Remnant: From the Ashes. Enemies take more damage, are harder to kill, and the bosses pose a greater challenge than in the Survivor level. If players found the Normal difficulty in Remnant: From the Ashes slightly easy, Veteran is a good step up.


Nightmare is a level up from Veteran and is recommended for those who found the Normal difficulty in Remnant: From the Ashes too easy. The percentage increase in difficulty from Survivor to Veteran is about 50-65%, but from Veteran to Nightmare, it jumps to 100-185% for the same increase in EXP. This level is designed for players with strong builds, as it encourages players to work their way up with a build crafted through multiple Campaign/Adventure Mode playthroughs.


In Remnant II, Apocalypse level is unlocked after beating the campaign once on any difficulty. With the description simply stating ‘Good Luck’, it’s clear that this is for players who enjoy a hardcore challenge. Despite the additional EXP earned, the spike in difficulty is significant, making it more suitable for players who feel rewarded by overcoming challenges.

Remnant 2: Which Difficulty Should You Pick? Video Tutorial


The Apocalypse difficulty is a conscious design choice by the developers and is more about the challenge than rewards. With enemies and bosses four times as tough as the Survivor level for just a 20% increase in EXP, it’s meant for those who relish the challenge. This level could increase the value of co-op Classes, such as Medic.

Enjoy Remnant 2 on PC, PS5, and Xbox Series X/S starting July 25, 2023.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  1. What are the four difficulty levels in Remnant 2? The four difficulty levels in Remnant 2 are Survivor, Veteran, Nightmare, and Apocalypse. The Apocalypse level is only unlocked after beating the game once on any difficulty level.
  2. What is the best difficulty level for a newcomer to Soulslike games or the Remnant series? Survivor is the recommended difficulty for newcomers. It’s designed to be approachable and rewarding, while still offering a level of challenge.
  3. What makes the Apocalypse level unique in Remnant 2? The Apocalypse level is significantly more difficult than the other levels and is unlocked only after beating the campaign once on any difficulty. Despite a minor increase in EXP, it’s designed more for the challenge than the rewards.
  4. How is the difficulty in Remnant 2 different from its predecessor, Remnant: From the Ashes? While the difficulty options in Remnant 2 are similar to those in Remnant: From the Ashes, they’ve been renamed and the game overall is reported to be more challenging. For instance, ‘Hard’ is now ‘Veteran’ and ‘Normal’ is ‘Survivor’.
  5. What factors should I consider when choosing a difficulty level in Remnant 2? When choosing a difficulty level in Remnant 2, consider your previous gaming experiences, familiarity with the Remnant series or Soulslike games, and what you want out of the game. Your choice will determine the level of challenge and rewards you will encounter in the game.


A macro gamer is a pre-programmed command that helps you input data more quickly. Gamers use macro keys to refer to individual keys on gaming mice and keyboards. Macro keys are a set of buttons that can be repeatedly pushed to execute the same operation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button